The Peer Mentor Program, sponsored by the Department of Athletics and founded in 1996, is a mentoring program offered to first-year student-athletes at Lafayette College.

The purpose of the program is to guide and assist first-year student-athletes in adjusting to the rigors of college life while participating in intercollegiate athletics.

Peer Mentors are upper-class student-athletes who have undergone an interview and selection process. These student leaders attend extensive training in working with their peers and are closely monitored and supervised by the Coordinator for Student-Athlete Support Services. Peer Mentors are leaders and role models who have proven their own success in managing academics, athletics, social engagements, and community service.

Peer Mentor Mission Statement

As leaders of the Lafayette Student-Athlete Community, we utilize our shared knowledge and experiences in facilitating a successful transition of first-year student-athletes into a Division I collegiate environment.

We build Mentor/Mentee relationships to establish academic, athletic, and personal goals to ensure overall achievement and promote a championship culture. As Peer Mentors, we pride ourselves in being dependable, trustworthy, encouraging, helpful and understanding. Our program strives to be a positive link between Students, the Athletic Department and the Lafayette Community.


  1. Deal with all aspects of a student’s transition to college in order to increase academic success
  2. Are a positive role model
  3. Provide Academic Enhancement Workshops for first year athletes
  4. Provide weekly contact between assigned students and mentors
  5. Provide weekly reports to the Academic Resource Hub and coaches
  6. Advise students of the resources available at Lafayette